Become a member || Login


Thirteen OClock

The Lucky Wonders
Thirteen OClock

(Buy mp3s)
Click to add the CD to your shopping bag

Lay Down My Arms

The Lucky Wonders
Lay Down My Arms

I'll Be Fine (Digital Single)

The Lucky Wonders
I'll Be Fine (Digital Single)

Anyway (Digital Single)

The Lucky Wonders
Anyway (Digital Single)

It's the intimacy of the songwriting and its quality that first strike you about The Lucky Wonders. Described as ‘stunning’ by critics, their songs invite you into a personal world where they share with an honesty exposed by few artists.

In previous incarnations WAMI Award winning songwriter Jessie Vintila was a finalist in the 2007 MusicOz Awards and a celebrated Emerging Artist at Woodford Folk Festival. In early 2009 Jessie found her songwriting soulmate. She teamed up with Emma Royle to create live music for a puppet show at the Adelaide Fringe Festival, and after 11 shows in 8 days The Lucky Wonders were born.

The Lucky Wonders have fast built momentum following the release of their debut album Thirteen O’Clock, making their warm, honest, folk-pop-roots presence felt on the air across Triple J, ABC, commercial and community stations around the country.

Engineered and co-produced by ARIA nominee Anthony Lycenko (Xavier Rudd, The Beautiful Girls, Pete Murray), ‘Thirteen O’Clock’ is a delicate blend of roots tunes with a pop underbelly, featuring "...arrangements peppered with bright ukulele, glockenspiel and harmonica. Recorded in their hometown of Byron Bay over a series of early mornings, Thirteen O’Clock becomes indicative of those curiously creative, still and silent hours..." The Dwarf.

Explains Emma: ‘This album covers a lot of ground, the individual tracks read like chapters in a bigger story, and in the end you’re left with something real but optimistic. It’s like, yeah, life can hurt sometimes, but if you stay open, there is a chance at something bigger and fuller’.

"Brimming with tales of isolation and love, Thirteen O’Clock is ultimately resolved to hopefulness and embracing the journey despite its twists and turns... the sense of optimism is so strong and the tunes are so uplifting, that you want to turn it up and dance around the kitchen (preferably with sun streaming through the windows)… Vintila and Royle prove themselves to be valid up-and-coming contributors to the ever-growing Australian singer-songwriter scene. And it's nothing to do with luck, but a whole heap of talent” The Dwarf

They have been likened to Sixpence None The Richer, Old Man River and The Waifs. They now play as a four piece with Brent Calcutt on bass and Anastassijah Scales on drums, delivering much loved live shows which continue to bring them a rapidly growing following.

You are not currently logged in. If you are already a member, please do so.

All prices are AUD
(Currency Converter)

CDs: 0
Vinyls: 0
Cost: $0.00
GST (inc): $0.00
Total: $0.00

Beat Magazine
A dreamy tune with a ticking rhythm... Jessie and Emma's voices work beautifully together.

The Northern Star
The only trouble with The Lucky Wonders release is that it leaves you wanting more.

Billboard Discoveries
In all, the (band) possesses all promise to enrich their niche, with wise messages cleverly concealed behind winsome refrains.


Anneliese Milk - THEDWARF.COM.AU April 2010

Like a warming homemade recipe you want to share with your closest friends and family, The Lucky Wonders’ debut album Thirteen O’clock is music for sharing.
Singer songwri...more


The Lucky Wonders are songwriting duo Jessie Vinitia and Emma Royle, along with Brent Calcutt on bass and Anastassijah Scales on drums. From Byron Bay, they have recently released their debut al...more


A couple of weeks ago I was wowed by So You’ve Never by The Lucky Wonders. Now that I’ve got the band’s debut album Thirteen O’Clock in...more

Songwriting duo Jessie Vintila and Emma Royle have released a stunning debut
album with tracks ranging right across the broad 'roots' genre. Song styles
vary from the country tones of 'Nothi...more


Wonderfully light, breezy, melodic soft pop. The folks in The Lucky Wonders really have a winner on their hands here. The band is comprised of Jessie Vintila, Emma Royle, Brent Calcutt, and A...more

JOHN ANDREWARTHA Hobart Mercury, June 5, 2010

This delicate blend of delightful melodies and stories about love, hard times and happiness is sure to appeal to those seeking an album that is quintessential to what many people seek or ex...more

Rhythms Magazine January 2011
 “2010’s Top 3 gigs and top 10 albums - Thirteen O’Clock”

newsunlimited.com.au September 2010
Live Review excerpt:
Skipping Girl Vinegar with support from The Lucky Wonders & Charlie Mayfair
Leah Holdsworth, September 14, 2010

The opening band for the evening, The Luc...more

Sue Barrett Rhythms magazine February 2011
Excerpts from triple band review
Sue Barrett – Rhythms magazine - February 2011

“One doesn’t have to look overseas, or explore vinyl archives, to access fine music fr...more

Jan Mawdesley - Conscious Living Magazine
In this their debut album, songwriters Emma Royle and Jessie Vintila have given the listener a delightful and eclectic mix of music and as well as a slice of their lives, which is both refreshing and ...more